Becoming a programmer.

People say if you learn to swim once in a lifetime, you will not drown unless you are in a Titanic and it sinks. Even though I can’t remember much in my life, I remember the day when I wrote my first program in BASIC. It was written as an article in a local newsletter. It was simply a program that asked for a username and password. It was all in black and white. It was in the dark DOS age.

My father had a Casio Calculator which was having keyboard similar to the standard keyboard. I used to my father calculating formulas and I wondered how it worked. It was also a BASIC program. I was very fortunate that I grew around computers and it was my father who bought a computer in those days when we used to play Atari. One fine day, two big boxes came and an engineer came to fix the computer in our home. It was so expensive that with that money you can buy two latest model laptops today.

When the computer was turned on, all it did was beep beep and after counting the RAM, it showed a black screen. Windows did not start automatically and you had type win and press enter.

The game that was installed in that machine was Doom and Wolf3d. It was so fascinating that me and my brother used to play in turns to go around the wall and shooting zombies.

I was still fascinated how the games were made. I began to learn the DOS commands. It was really exciting to give commands to the computer.

To be Continued…

 

Leave a comment